Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University / Agra University

dr bhim rao ambedkar university logo
Paliwal Park
Agra, Uttar Pradesh 282004 , India
(0562) 2820051, 2852118, 2852136
(0562) 2520052
University Website
Approvals: UGC

About Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University / Agra University

The foundation of Dr B. R. Ambedkar University (originally known as Agra University), was laid on the 1st of July, 1927, as a result of hectic efforts of a band of enthusiastic educationists like, Rev. Canon A.W. Davis, Munshi Narain Prasad Asthana, Dr L.P. Mathur, Lala Dewan Chand, Rai Bahadur Anand Swaroop and Dr Brajendra Swaroop. Original jurisdiction of University extended over United Provinces of Agra, Central India and Rajputana with 14 affiliated colleges and 2530 students of which, 1475 students belonged to United Provinces. Initially there were only four faculties in the University viz. Arts, Sciences, Commerce and Law. Faculties of Medicine (1936), Agriculture (1938), Home Science (1980), Basic Sciences (1981), Fine Arts (1982) and Management (1994) were added subsequently.

The University was renamed as Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University, in 1996. The University now caters to the educational need of the seven districts of Agra Division Agra, Aligarh, Mainpuri, Hathras, Firozabad, Etah and Mathura. Besides, the University is proud of having affiliated to it, Sarojini Naidu Medical College, which is one of the oldest and premier Medical Institute of the country. At present university has approx 200 affiliated colleges and 15 residential Institutes spread out in its four residential campus viz. Paliwal Park, Khandari Campus, Civil Lines Campus and Chhaleshar Campus. Furthermore, this university affiliates colleges of Homoeopathy, extending all over the State of U.P. The University is steadily surging ahead as a centre for higher scientific vocational and job oriented education and innovative research. The goal of the University is to innovate in the field of education and to become a centre of excellence both Nationally and Internationally. The University is not only confined to impart quality education but also to satisfy the burning desire of the students who are exploring the creative intellect and learning attitude of the students. Though originally affiliating in nature, the University has over the years developed a sizeable residential wing, consisting of following : -

Institutes & Independent Teaching Departments:
  • M. Institute of Hindi & Linguistics (Paliwal Park) - Departments :Indian Language, Linguistics,Foreign Languages, Oriental Classical Languages, Mass Communication & Journalism
  • Institute of Social Sciences (Paliwal Park) - Departments : Sociology, Statistics, Social Work
  • Institute of Home Science (Khandari Campus) - Departments : Human Development & Family Study, Food & Nutrition, Clothing & textile, Home Science Extension, Family Resource Management
  • Institute of Basic Science (Khandari Campus) - Departments : Chemistry, Mathematics, Forensic Science, Physics
  • Department of Library and Information Science (Chhalesar Campus)
  • Department of Adult Continuing Education & Extension (Paliwal Park)
  • Department of Physical Education (Chhalesar Campus)
  • Seth Padam Chand Jain Institute of Commerce ,Business Management & Economics (Khandari Campus)
  • Dean Dayal Institute of Vocational Education(Khandari Campus) - Departments : Instrumentation, Optical Instrumentation, Computer Application, Advertising, Sales Promotion & Sales Management
  • Institute of Engineering & Technology(Khandari Campus) - Departments : Computer Science, Information Technology, Electronics & Communication, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Biotechnology, Electronic & Instrumentation
  • Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Institute of Rural Development (Paliwal Park)
  • School of Life Sciences (Khandari Campus) - Departments : Botany, Environmental Studies, Environmental Toxicology, Zoology, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Forestry
  • Department of Contemporary Social Studies & Law (Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Chair, Paliwal Park Campus)
  • Lalit Kala Sansthan (Institute of Fine Arts) (Civil Lines, Campus)
  • Institute of Computer & Information Science (Khandari Campus)
  • Institute of Hotel & Tourism Management (Khandari Campus)
  • Department of History (Paliwal Park)
  • Department of Physiotherapy
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Education

Sur Peeth - It is created for the study of Brij Languages, Brij Culture and Brij Folk Arts. It is doing valuable work on the preservation and cultivation of Brij Culture amongst the new generation.

Centre For Ghandhian Studies - It has been established for the in-depth study of Ghandhian Philosophy, a vital need for the "violent "modern world.

Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Chair - It is aimed at providing studies in constitutional law and contemporary social issues, human rights, labour laws and International laws.

Foreign Students Advisory Council

Office of the Dean of Student Welfare

Sports Council

Career Guidance & Employment Bureau

SC/ST Cell

Placement Cell

Minority Coaching Centre

Boys & Girls Hostels

Computer Centre

Central Library


University Model School

Information compiled from : Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University / Agra University Website
Other Universities in Uttar Pradesh
Aligarh Muslim University (AMU)
Allahabad University
Amity University
Amity University
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University (BBAU)
Babu Banarasi Das University (BBDU)
Banaras Hindu University (BHU)
Bhatkhande Music Institute Deemed University
Bundelkhand University
Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies/ Central University of Tibetan Studies
Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology
Chaudhary Charan Singh University / Meerut University
Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University
Dayalbagh Educational Institute
Deendayal Upadhyaya Gorakhpur University
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University
Dr. Shakuntala Misra National Rehabilitation University (DSMRU)
English and Foreign Languages University - Lucknow Campus
G.L.A. University
Galgotias University (GU)
Gautam Buddh Technical University (GBTU)
Gautam Buddha University
IEC University - Greater Noida Campus
IFTM University
Indian Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Allahabad
Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Lucknow
Indian Institute of Technology (BHU)
Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kanpur
Indian Veterinary Research Institute - IVRI
Integral University
Invertis University
Jagadguru Rambhadracharya Handicapped University
Jaypee Institute of Information Technology University
Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti Urdu, Arabi~Farsi University
King George's Medical University
M.J.P. Rohilkhand University
Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology (MMMUT)
Mahamaya Technical University (MTU)
Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith
Mangalayatan University
Mohammad Ali Jauhar University
Monad University
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology - NIT Allahabad
Narendra Dev University of Agriculture and Technology (NDUAT)
Nehru Gram Bharati University
Noida International University (NIU)
Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Pashu Chikitsa Vigyan Vishwavidyalaya Evam Go Anusandhan Sansthan
Purvanchal University / Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University
S.R.M. University NCR Campus
Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture Technology and Sciences (SHIATS)
Sampurnanand Sanskrit University
Santosh University
Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel University of Agriculture and Technology
Sharda University (SU)
Shiv Nadar University
Shobhit University
Shri Venkateshwara University (SVU)
Swami Vivekanand Subharti University
Teerthanker Mahaveer University
University of Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU)
Uttar Pradesh Technical University
  Page Views: 15847 | Updated On: 07-Nov-2014