Education in India
   Home / Universities in India / Universities in Bihar / Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU)

Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU)

Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU) logo
Address: Chanakya National Law University Campus, Near Mithapur Bus Stand, Mithapur
Patna, Bihar 800001 , India
Phone: (0612) 2362270, 2351919
Fax: (0612) 2362270
Website: University Website
UGC Recognised


About Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU)

Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU), Patna has been established by Government of Bihar for the development and management of educational infrastructure related to technical, medical, management and allied professional education in the state. The Aryabhatta Knowledge University Act 2008 provides for the establishment of University at Patna to conduct and facilitate affiliation of institutions in the conventional as well new frontiers of professional education.

Historically, the most prestigious institutes of the State, Bihar College of Engineering established in 1900, has been converted as centrally Funded Institute, namely National institute of Technology, Patna in February 2004. Other old and prestigious Institutions are Bhagalpur College of Engineering under Tilka Manjhi University, Bhagalpur and Muzaffarpur Institute of Technology under BRBA Bihar University, Muzaffarpur. BIT Sindri, which is now is state of Jharkhand, was also established by state of Bihar. These institutes offered high quality Technical Education, and their alumni today have achieved National and International Recognition.

In private sector only two engineering colleges, namely Maulana Azad College of engineering Patna and R.P Sharma Institute of Technology Patna were established in the year 1981. Both institutions are affiliated to Magadh University, Bodh Gaya. Vidya Bihar Institute of Technology at Purnea opened in 2009 and Vidyan Institute of Technology and Management at Buxar, Bihar opened in 2010. These institutes have got approval from AICTE and waiting for affiliations under Aryabhatta Knowledge University, Patna. As per Act passed by the Bihar Government “Published in Bihar Gazette on 11th August, 2008” all the above mentioned institutes except N.I.T, Patna will come under A. K. U, Patna Bihar.

Aryabhatta Knowledge University Faculties / Departments

  • Engineering and Technology including IT
  • Nanotechnology, Biotechnology, Computer Science and Applications, Bioinformatics & Food Technology
  • Management
  • Law
  • Architecture
  • Agriculture Engineering, Forestry, Horticulute, Floriculture & Sericulture
  • Veterinary Science, Animal Science, Dairy Technology, Leather Technology & Fisheries
  • Teacher’s Training
  • Allopathy, Medicine, Medical, Para medical Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Unani, Tibbia, Siddha Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, Social and Preventive Medicine, Denstistry, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy & Optometry
  • Performing Arts, Visual Arts
  • Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Library and Information Science
  • Social Work / Social Sciences
  • Commerce, Business Administration, Management & Finance

Information compiled from : Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU) Website
  Page updated on : 19-Feb-2013  | Total page views : 8141

About Us | Discliamer | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Sitemap | Contact Us

All trade marks belong to the respective owners.
Copyrights © 2014 Target Informatics Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved.

Follow targetstudy on Twitter Findw on Facebook