Intermediate course of ICWAI

Duration: 12 Months
Level: Graduation
Type: Degree
Eligibility: Graduation or passed the Foundation Course

What is Intermediate Course of ICWAI?

The intermediate course of Institute of Cost and Work Accountants of India (ICWAI) is a course of twelve  months duration which is the second level/second stage study after clearing the foundation course on the path of becoming a Cost Accountant.

The ICWAI course involves study of subjects and topics such as Cost and Management Accountancy, Statistics, Auditing, Tax Laws and Tax Planning, Organization & Management Fundamentals, Accounting, Economics and Business Fundamentals, etc.

The course provided by the Institute of Cost and Work Accountants of India (ICWAI) is a mixture of postal tuition and mandatory coaching classes for a specified period. Study material is provided to the students at the time of admission.

Note:  Candidates of Foundation, Intermediate and Final Examinations can solve their questions in Hindi language.

Examinations are held twice a year i.e. in June and in December at various centres of the country and at three Overseas Centres viz. Dubai, Sultanate of Oman and Botswana. For June Term Examination, apply before 17th December of previous year and for December Term Examination apply before 25th June.

Why to Pursue an Intermediate Course of ICWAI?

  • Intermediate Course of ICWAI serves as a second step for making a career as a Cost Accountant, which is very lucrative and prestigious.
  • The employment opportunities for a Cost Accountant are ample in both private and public sector.
  • ICWAI programme has been recognised by Association of Indian Universities for admission to Ph. D courses in commerce and allied subjects.

Eligibility to Pursue Intermediate Course of ICWAI:

  • Candidates who have passed the foundation course and are not less than 18 years of age can apply for intermediate course of ICWAI.
  • Graduates can directly enrol to the intermediate course without doing the foundation course of ICWAI.

Key Subjects / Topics of Study:

The Intermediate Course of ICWAI consists of theoretical examinations as well as compulsory practical trainings. The theoretical examinations consist of 8 subjects to be studied arranged into 2 stages of 4 papers of 100 marks each.

Stage I:

  • Business Laws and Communication Skill 
  • Business Taxation
  • Cost and Management Accountancy
  • Information Systems and Technology

Stage II:

  • Advanced Financial Accounting  
  • Auditing
  • Management Accounting - Performance Management  
  • Quantitative Methods

Practical Training:

  • Computer Course
  • Group Discussion
  • Business Communication Seminar

List of Colleges/Institutes Conducting Intermediate Course of ICWAI:

The Institute of Cost and Work Accountants of India (ICWAI) is the only institute in India providing training in this specialised profession. Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India (ICWAI) established on 28th May, 1959 under the Cost and Works Accountants Act, 1959, promotes, regulates and develops the profession of Cost Accountancy in India.

It has its headquarters in Kolkata. Under the jurisdiction of the respective regional councils there are 92 branches located in major cities all over the country and six overseas centres engaged in promoting the profession of cost and management accountancy.

The institute as a leader in the field in the South Asian Region is also imparting training to accountants from overseas countries.

Career Options and Job Opportunities:

After successful completion of the ICWAI final course and being a member of ICWAI, one can be employed as:

Some Job Types:

  • Chief Accountant
  • Chief Internal Auditor
  • Cost Accountant
  • Cost Consultant
  • Cost Controller
  • Finance Director
  • Financial Consultant
  • Financial Controller
  • Managing Director
  • Marketing Manager
  • Teacher

Some Employment Areas:

  • Banks
  • Company Law Boards
  • Consultancy Firms
  • Departments of Company Affairs
  • Developmental Agencies
  • Education Sector
  • Financial Institutions
  • Government Departments
  • Other Regulatory Bodies
  • Private Companies
  • Public Utility Sector
  • Service Industry
  • Stock Exchanges
  • Training & Research Organisations
After completing Intermediate course of ICWAI you can become:
  Page Views: 14347 | Updated On: 09-Nov-2011