Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith

Mahatama Gandhi Kashi Vidyapeeth Logo
Vidyapath Road, Chaitganj
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 , India
(0542) 2225472, 2222689, 2223160
(0542) 2221268, 2225472
University Website

About Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith

Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi during the Non-Cooperation movement of the freedom struggle; on the auspicious occasion of Basant Panchami on February 10,1921. Personalities like the "Father of the Nation" - Mahatma Gandhi, "Rashtra Ratna" - Babu Shiva Prasad Gupt, "Bharat Ratna" - Dr.Bhagwan Das and many other freedom fighters played an important role in establishment of this university. The university was establishes as an effort in the direction of India’s freedom struggle against Britishers. Dr.Bhagwan Das was the first Vice-chancellor of Kashi Vidyapith. The teaching faculty of the institution provided original dimensions to the concept and movement of Indian Socialism .After seeing an educational institution in Japan during his visit to that country in 1913-14, Babu Shiva Prasad Gupt drew inspiration to establish an institution in India, free from government aid or interference. The boycott of government-aided educational institutions during the Non-Cooperation movement coupled with Mahatma Gandhi's programme of National Education exerted a great deal of influence on Babu Shiva Prasad Gupt. As a consequence the Vidyapith came into being. The Kashi Vidyapith was accorded the status of  "Deemed University" by the U.G.C. in the year 1963. The Institution is itself a state university under UP State University Act, 1973. Curricula and syllabus has been designed and updated as per the UGC/AICTE norms.

Location - Click here for - Google Map Location


  • Social Work.
  • Commerce & Management.
  • Education.
  • Law.
  • Science & Technology.
  • Student Welfare.
  • Humanities.
  • Social Sciences.
  • Madan Mohan Malviya Institute of Hindi Journalism.


Library - Dr. Bhagwadas Central Library formerly known as Bhagwandas Swadhyaypith was established in 1921 later named as Dr. Bhagwandas Central Library. Dr. Bhagwandas was renowned philosopher and first Vice Chancellor of the university. The central library of the university is situated in the middle of the university campus and the total area in library of both the floors is 2250sq. meter. At present it has total collection of 2,44,352 documents. It also contains a section of unpublished thesis. Number of Library books / Titles  /Journals : MBA- Books; 1,522-Titles, 32-Journals available (programme-wise).

Laboratory - There is a Computer Lab with 60-Computers, 8 - Printers, 1-LCD Projector, 4 - Overhead Projectors, 2-Photostat Machine and 1-Television.

Computing Facilities - These include

  1. 30 systems connected by LAN.
  2. 30 systems connected to WAN.
  3. 256 KB/sec. Internet bandwidth.
  4. 6 Major software packages.
  5. Multimedia, Internet facilities are also available.

Other Facilities - These include :

  • Workshop. 
  • Games and Sports Facilities.
  • Extra Curriculum Activities.
  • Soft Skill Development Facilities.


  • Accredited with B+ University by NAAC.

Information compiled from : Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith Website
Other Universities in Uttar Pradesh
Aligarh Muslim University - AMU
Allahabad University
Amity University
Amity University
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University - BBAU
Babu Banarasi Das University - BBDU
Banaras Hindu University - BHU
Bhatkhande Music Institute Deemed University
Bundelkhand University
Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies/ Central University of Tibetan Studies
Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology
Chaudhary Charan Singh University / Meerut University
Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University
Dayalbagh Educational Institute
Deendayal Upadhyaya Gorakhpur University
Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University / Agra University
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University - RMLNLU Lucknow
Dr. Shakuntala Misra National Rehabilitation University - DSMRU
English and Foreign Languages University - Lucknow Campus
G.L.A. University
Galgotias University - GU
Gautam Buddh Technical University - GBTU
Gautam Buddha University
IEC University - Greater Noida Campus
IFTM University
Indian Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Allahabad
Indian Institute of Management - IIM Lucknow
Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kanpur
Indian Institute of Technology BHU - IIT Varanasi
Indian Veterinary Research Institute - IVRI
Integral University
Invertis University
Jagadguru Rambhadracharya Handicapped University
Jaypee Institute of Information Technology University
Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti Urdu, Arabi, Farsi University
King George's Medical University
M.J.P. Rohilkhand University
Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology - MMMUT
Mahamaya Technical University - MTU
Mangalayatan University
Mohammad Ali Jauhar University
Monad University
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology - NIT Allahabad
Narendra Dev University of Agriculture and Technology - NDUAT
Nehru Gram Bharati University
Noida International University - NIU
Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Pashu Chikitsa Vigyan Vishwavidyalaya Evam Go Anusandhan Sansthan
Purvanchal University / Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University
S.R.M. University NCR Campus
Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture Technology and Sciences - SHIATS
Sampurnanand Sanskrit University
Santosh University
Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel University of Agriculture and Technology
Sharda University - SU
Shiv Nadar University
Shobhit University
Shri Venkateshwara University - SVU
Swami Vivekanand Subharti University
Teerthanker Mahaveer University
University of Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University - UPRTOU
Uttar Pradesh Technical University
  Page Views: 7935 | Updated On: 10-Nov-2014