Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences /Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences

Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences Logo
NTR UHS, NH-5, Frontage Road
Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh 520008 , India
(0866) 245120610
9866536721, 9866389649
(0866) 2450463
University Website
Approvals: UGC

About Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences /Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences

Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, Andhra Pradesh was established by the Act.No. 6 of the Andhra Pradesh legislature and was inaugurated on 9-4-1986 by the late Sri N.T. Rama Rao, the then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. It was then known as the 'University of Health Sciences' and it started functioning at Vijayawada from 01-11-1986. After the death of its founder Sri N.T. Rama Rao the University was named after him as NTR University of Health Sciences (NTRUHS) with effect from 2.2.98 vide Act No.4 of 1998. Until April 2002 the University office was accommodated in Siddhartha Medical College when it got its own building. The University has over 316 colleges affiliated to it. The Degrees awarded by the University are recognized by the Statutory bodies like the  Medical Council of India  , the Dental Council of India, the  Central Council of Indian Medicine  and the  Central Council of Homoeopathy  and Indian Nursing Council. NTR University of Health Sciences is conducting interactive Programme on Research Methodology which will focus on Medical Research. The University has introduced Ph.D. Courses for those having PG degree in subjects of Modern Medicine and is planning to start the same in Unani and Nursing faculties soon. In the faculty of Modern Medicine even the students possessing MBBS, M.Sc. Medical Sciences or M.Sc. Science groups of pre clinical and para clinical subjects may be considered for admission to Ph.D. based on performance in an Entrance Examination specifically conducted for the purpose.The qualifying marks shall be 60% since this provision is intended only to encourage the excellent candidates without MD, MS, DM or M.Ch. degree to pursue research in the field of Modern Medicine. For other than in-service candidates a grant of fellowship from CSIR, NET, ICMR, UGC etc. is a pre requisite. Duration of the Ph.D. course will be two years for candidates with MD, MS, DM or M.Ch. degree, while it will be 4 years for candidates having M.Sc. and MBBS 3 years for candidates having M.Phil.

Location - Click here for Google Map Location.

Departments / Faculty

  • Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery.
  • Dental Surgery.
  • Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery.
  • Homoeopathic Medicine and Surgery.
  • Naturopathy and Yogic Sciences.
  • Unani Medicine and Surgery.
  • Physiotherapy.
  • Medical Laboratory Technology.
  • Nursing.
  • Speech Language Pathology and Audiology.


Learning Resource Centre - The Digital Library of Dr. NTRUHS has a collection of both print and electronic books  and  journals. The Digital Library is equipped with multi-media and internet service and well equipped repographic section. The Digital Library is member of ERMED e-journal consortium hosted by National Medical Library, New Delhi. The staff and students of the affiliated colleges can access 742 online journals in the  University Library. The University has established a consortium with the libraries of affiliated colleges and named as NTRMEDNET Consortium. In addition to regular services like circulation, reprograhic service, reference service, the library provides net based service to the users of all affiliated colleges of the university. Online Service provides literature search material to doctors, research scholars, Scientists and Para Medical students. Proquest Medical Library is also available on a series of CD ROMs. Like the Online system, the CDs Provide information.

Computer Centre - There is a Library and Computer Centre from where the Library network is operated.

Guest House - Guest house facility is available with different categories of accommodation for the faculty, examiners etc.

Examination Section - The Examination Section is housed in a separate area with special security. Because of electronically controlled access, the examination section is accessible only to authorized staff and officers working in the section. Bio-metric Electronic Attendance recording is also installed.  

MOU - The University has a MOU with the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine (SIUSOM) Springfield. Illinois, USA. As a part of the MOU a highly successful International Conference on Medical Education and Technology was held in January, 2002 in collaboration with the SIUSOM. Further, as a follow up to that, workshops have been conducted  in several Medical Colleges in which the faculty participated  with great enthusiasm, and derived great benefit. As a part of the MOU three members of the faculty have been given a placement in that University for training in Medical Education Technology under an ECFMG-FAIMER Fellowship.


  • Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences is the first University of Health Sciences in India.

Information compiled from : Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences /Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences Website
Other Universities in Andhra Pradesh
Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University
Acharya Nagarjuna University
Adikavi Nannaya University
Andhra University - AU
AP Theological University
Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University - DSNLU Vishakhapatnam
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University - BRAOU
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University
Dr. Y.S.R. Horticultural University
Dravidian University
English and Foreign Languages University - Hyderabad Campus
GITAM University - Visakhapatnam Campus
ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education - IFHE
Indian Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Sri City
Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Hyderabad
Indian Maritime University - IMU Visakhapatnam Campus
International Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Hyderabad
Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University - JNAFA
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University - Kakinada
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Anantapur - JNTUA
Kakatiya University
Koneru Lakshmaiah University - KL University
Krishna University
Mahatma Gandhi University
Maulana Azad National Urdu University
National Academy of Legal Studies and Research University of Law - NALSAR Bangalore
National Institute of Technology - NIT Warangal
Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences - NIMS
Osmania University - OU
Palamuru University
Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University - PSTU
Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies - RGUKT
Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth
Rayalaseema University
Satavahana University
Sri Krishnadevaraya University
Sri Padmavati Mahila Visvavidyalayam - Women's University
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning - Anantapur Campus For Women
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning - Prasanthi Nilayam Campus For Men
Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences
Sri Venkateswara University
Sri Venkateswara Vedic University - SVVU
Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University
Telangana University
University of Hyderabad
Vignan University - VU
Vikrama Simhapuri University - VSU
Yogi Vemana University
  Page Views: 10947 | Updated On: 10-Sep-2014