Adikavi Nannaya University

Rajah Rajah Narendra Nagar, GSL POST
Rajamundhry, Andhra Pradesh 533105 , India
(0883) 2472618, 2472671, 2472615
8832472671, 8121692457
(0883) 2472670
University Website
Approvals: UGC

About Adikavi Nannaya University

Adikavi Nannaya University was established in March 2006 through the Government of Andhra Pradesh Act No. 28 of 2006 at Rajahmundry. It is a unique addition to the existing Universities in India. Named after Adikavi of Telugu literature Nannayabhatta, the eleventh century poet laureate who initiated a freeway authentic translation of the great epic Mahabharata from Sanskrit to Telugu, the University aims to combine the pristine glory and the contemporary demands of educational excellence.


Adikavi Nannaya University has adopted the semester system. The academic year is divided into two semesters, each consisting of about 110 instructional days. The odd semester is from July to November and the even semester is from December to May. Each semester is a complete unit by itself. The instructional methods include conventional lectures, classroom interactions, guest lectures, seminars, symposia, field study/ training and Project Work. The syllabi and the model question papers will be provided by the respective schools. Various fields of knowledge from Engineering and Applied Sciences to Life and Physical Sciences and the Humanities and Arts are nurtured under the aegis of the University.

A big library covering all kinds of books and a computer centre with modern facilities for the students is the highlights of the campus. A sports club and health centre promotes extracurricular activities and encourages students to participate in various sports and games events.

Departments and Schools

  1. Department of Mathematics.
  2. Department of Computer Science.
  3. School of Mathematics & Information Sciences.
  4. School of Management Studies.
  5. School of Life and Health Sciences.
  6. School of Earth and Atmospheric Science.
  7. School of Chemical Sciences.
  8. School of Cultural Studies & Communication.

Facilities and Campus

Hostel Facility
- The University provides limited hostel accommodation to the students. Independent hostel facility is arranged for boys by the University. Allotment of seats and rules are decided by the warden, whose word is final in all respects. For girls, select few seats are allotted in the hostel of Kandukuri Rajyalakshmi College for Women’s on the basis of first come / first served / availability. However University has initiated process to create hostel facility for girl students

Library - The University Library started functioning in 2006 with a nucleus collection. The motto is to inculcate the habit of reading among the students. The library has 4300 text books besides reference books. It also subscribes 50 different periodicals and 12 news papers. It also subscribes journals for required for all the subjects. The library also provides competitive books so that the students can make use of them for their job opportunities.

Computer Centre - A Computer centre with multimedia capacity which can accommodate about 40 students is available for developing necessary skills. It uninterrupted LCD and other required provision which can accommodate about 40 students is available for developing necessary skills.

Other Facilities

Health Insurance - All students are covered under health insurance scheme

Educational Loans - Candidates can avail educational loans offered by Nationalized Banks like State Bank of India and Andhra Bank. The University, on request, will issue a letter stating fee details and other financial requirement thus helps in clarifying doubts and arranges for loan for the course pursued by the student.

Extra Curricular Activities

Orientation Programme - The University organizes an orientation programme for about a week for the freshly admitted students of all disciplines in the University. This programme is one of the University’s mission of developing the students to be holistic and responsible citizens of the society. It also brings about and enhances multidisciplinary skills of the students so that they are able to face the challenges of a competitive job market. The programme includes various sessions and topics like Stress Management through Yoga, Values and Higher education, Environmental awareness, Gender Sensitization, Discourses on Spirituality, Computer awareness, Reasoning and Logistics, deliver of lectures on Role of NGO’s and contribution to Socio-cultural development, Science and ts application in every day life, Media as a mode of communication etc.

Information compiled from : Adikavi Nannaya University Website
Other Universities in Andhra Pradesh
Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University
Acharya Nagarjuna University
Andhra University - AU
AP Theological University
Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University - DSNLU Vishakhapatnam
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University - BRAOU
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University
Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences /Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences
Dr. Y.S.R. Horticultural University
Dravidian University
English and Foreign Languages University - Hyderabad Campus
GITAM University - Visakhapatnam Campus
ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education - IFHE
Indian Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Sri City
Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Hyderabad
Indian Maritime University - IMU Visakhapatnam Campus
International Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Hyderabad
Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University - JNAFA
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University - Kakinada
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Anantapur - JNTUA
Kakatiya University
Koneru Lakshmaiah University - KL University
Krishna University
Mahatma Gandhi University
Maulana Azad National Urdu University
National Academy of Legal Studies and Research University of Law - NALSAR Bangalore
National Institute of Technology - NIT Warangal
Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences - NIMS
Osmania University - OU
Palamuru University
Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University - PSTU
Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies - RGUKT
Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth
Rayalaseema University
Satavahana University
Sri Krishnadevaraya University
Sri Padmavati Mahila Visvavidyalayam - Women's University
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning - Anantapur Campus For Women
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning - Prasanthi Nilayam Campus For Men
Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences
Sri Venkateswara University
Sri Venkateswara Vedic University - SVVU
Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University
Telangana University
University of Hyderabad
Vignan University - VU
Vikrama Simhapuri University - VSU
Yogi Vemana University
  Page Views: 9587 | Updated On: 11-Nov-2014