Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences - RGUHS

Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences Logo
4th'T' Block, jayanagar
Bangalore, Karnataka 560041 , India
(080) 26961933, 26961935, 26961943
(080) 26961931
University Website
Approvals: UGC

About Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences - RGUHS

For the regulation and promotion of higher education in health sciences throughout the state of Karnataka, the Government of Karnataka passed an Act in 1994 to establish the University of Health Sciences and the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences was thus established. It started functioning from 1st June 1996. The institution is named after former Prime Minister of India Rajiv Gandhi. Originally it was centered in Mysore, but in 1998 the Karnataka State Legislature directed that it be moved to Bangalore.

All medical and health sciences educational institutions in the state come under the purview of this University. There are about 235 institutions in the state belonging to different health science facilities such as medical, dental, ayurveda, homeopathy, unani, naturopathy and yogic sciences, pharmacy, nursing, physiotherapy, speech and hearing, hospital management, medical laboratory technology and radiography under this University for affiliation, admissions, examinations, award of degrees and maintenance of the uniformity and standardisation of all the academic programs and degrees. Since large number of institutions of health sciences are spread over the entire state, it has become a challenging task to monitor and control the administrative and academic functions for the University.

Departments / Faculty
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Indian System of Medicine, Ayurveda, Unani, Yoga & Naturopathy
  • Faculty of Homoeopathy
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Allied Subjects

Internet Infrastructure - The Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore has developed the internet infrastructure for hosting online contents like, RGUHS home page, Digital Library Website, Dissertation Display system, Notifications, Online application forms, Online student database management system, Online teachers database management system, HELINET Gateway for e-journals and e-books, convocation related data, web-mail service, PG entrance test related contents, counseling details etc, though the web-service.
Information compiled from : Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences - RGUHS Website
Other Universities in Karnataka
Alliance University
Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham - Bengaluru Campus
Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham - Mysore Campus
Azim Premji University
B.L.D.E. University
Bangalore University
Central University of Karnataka
Christ University
Davangere University
GITAM University - Bengaluru Campus
Gulbarga University
Indian Institute of Management - IIM Bangalore
Indian Institute of Science
International Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Bangalore
Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeswara University - JSS University
Jain University - JU
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research - JNCASR
K.S.G.H. Music and Performing Arts University
Kannada University
Karnatak University
Karnataka State Law University - KSLU
Karnataka State Open University - KSOU
Karnataka State Women's University - KSWU
Karnataka Veterinary Animal and Fisheries Sciences University
KLE University
Kuvempu University
M.S. Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences - MSRUAS
Mangalore University
Manipal University
Mysore University
National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences - NIMHANS
National Institute of Technology - NIT Karnataka
National Law School of India University - NLSIU Bangalore
Nitte University
PES University
Rai Technology University - RTU
Rani Channamma University
Sri Devaraj URS University
Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education
Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana - SVYASA
The Institute of Trans Disciplinary Health Sciences and Technology
Tumkur University
University of Agricultural Sciences - Bangalore
University of Agricultural Sciences - Dharwad
University of Agricultural Sciences - Raichur
University of Horticultural Sciences - UHS
Vijayanagara Sri Krishnadevaraya University - VSKU
Visvesvaraya Technological University - VTU
Yenepoya University
  Page Views: 16246 | Updated On: 03-Feb-2015