Jai Narain Vyas University

jai-narayan-vyas-university logo
Bhagat ki Kothi, Pali Road
Jodhpur, Rajasthan 342001 , India
(0291) 2432947
8296431216, 8981440036, 9432913347, 9799301753
(0291) 2649465
University Website
Approvals: UGC NAAC

About Jai Narain Vyas University

Jai Narain Vyas University was earlier known as University of Jodhpur. It was  inaugurated by Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, the President of India on 24th August, 1962. It is named after Jai Narayan Vyas (1899-1963). He was a former chief minister of the Indian state of Rajasthan. He hailed from Jodhpur city and was a leader of Indian National Congress party. Jai Narayan Vyas and other Jodhpuri political activists formed the "Marwar Hitkarni Sabha" (Marwar Improvement Society) in the early 1920s in Jodhpur State, aimed at freeing the state from the rule of "aliens": a chief minister and other non-Jodhpuri officials both Indian and English. There are four Government Colleges of Jodhpur became part of the University.

The following four Government Colleges of Jodhpur became part of the University:

  1. MBM Engineering College (now Faculty of Engineering with 11 Departments).
  2. Jaswant College (now Faculty of Commerce & Management Studies with 04 Departments).
  3. S.M.K. College (now Faculty of Law and Campus of Institute of Evening Studies and also being used presently for Under graduate teaching of Faculty of Arts. This also houses Coaching Centre for Weaker Sections).
  4. K.N. College for Women (The multi-faculty constituent college of the University) - Shah G.L. Kabra Teacher's Training College also existed as private college at the time of foundation of the University. This is now one of the affiliated colleges of the University.

Jai Narain Vyas University is a residential university but the Colleges situated within the municipal limits of Jodhpur are affiliated to the University. Date of UGC recognition as university July 14, 1962.  It has total land area of 315.40 Hactrs (764.75 Acres) and the total Constructed Area is 152288 Sq.Mts.

The Government of Rajasthan, under the Section 5(2) of the University of Jodhpur Act 1962, permitted admission of the following colleges of Jodhpur to the privileges of this University w.e.f. 14-07-1962.

  • M.B.M. Engineering College, Jodhpur.
  • Jaswant College, Jodhpur.
  • S.M.K. College, Jodhpur.
  • Kamla Nehru Girl's College, Jodhpur.
  • Mahesh Teachers Training College, Jodhpur (Private).

Satellite Campuses

  1. Jaswant Campus.     
  2. S.M.K. Campus.
  3. K. N. College for Women.     
  4. M.B.M Engg College.

Location  - Click here for Google Map Location


  • Arts, Education & Social Sciences.
  • Commerce & Management Studies.  
  • Engineering and Architecture.  
  • Law.  
  • Science.


Library - The university has  has enough stock of books to take care of the requirements of the staff and students.

Laboratories and Workshops
- The Laboratories and Workshops are equipped with all necessary equipments.

Canteen - The students can have their lunch and snacks at the canteen.


  • The university is accredited as “A” by NAAC.

Information compiled from : Jai Narain Vyas University Website
Other Universities in Rajasthan
All India Institute of Medical Sciences - AIIMS Jodhpur
Amity University
Banasthali University
Bhagwant University
Birla Institute of Technology and Science - BITS Pilani
Career Point University
Central University of Rajasthan
Dr. K.N. Modi University
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Rajasthan Ayurved University - DSRRAU
Geetanjali University - GU
Homoeopathy University
I.I.S. University's International College for Girls - ICG
IASE University
ICFAI University
Indian Institute of Health Management Research - IIHMR University
Indian Institute of Information Technology - IIIT Kota
Indian Institute of Management - IIM Udaipur
Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Jodhpur
J.K. Lakshmipat University - JKLU
J.R.N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth University
Jagadguru Ramanandacharya Rajasthan Sanskrit University - JRRSU
Jagan Nath University
Jagdishprasad Jhabarmal Tibrewala University - JJTU
Jain Vishva Bharati University
Jaipur National University
Jayoti Vidyapeeth Women's University
JECRC University
Jodhpur National University - JNU
Maharaj Vinayak Global University
Maharaja Ganga Singh University - MGSU
Maharana Pratap University of Agricultural and Technology - MPUAT
Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University
Mahatma Jyoti Rao Phoole University
Malaviya National Institute of Technology - MNIT Jaipur
Manipal University Jaipur
Mewar University - MU
Mody University of Science and Technology - MUST
Mohanlal Sukhadia University
National Law University - NLU Jodhpur
NIIT University
NIMS University
Pacific University
Poornima University - PU
Pratap University
Raffles University
Rajasthan Agricultural University
Rajasthan Technical University - RTU
Rajasthan University of Health Sciences
Rajasthan University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Sangam University
Shridhar University
Singhania University
Sir Padampat Singhania University
SunRise University
Suresh Gyan Vihar University
Tantia University
The LNM Institute of Information Technology - LNMIIT
University of Engineering and Management - UEM
University of Kota
University of Rajasthan
Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University
  Page Views: 11769 | Updated On: 18-Nov-2014